Day 10 – 3 Little Words

I am the first to admit that I am in no way shape or form a perfect parent, not even an almost perfect parent. Far from it in all actuality.

I may “pin” fun lunch box ideas on Pinterest or sneaky ways to get kids to eat their vegetables, but there is no way I have the time, energy, or sheer patience to make Finding Nemo out of berries or turkey roll up scarecrows… it ain’t happening. I am lucky if I remember not to pack something with nuts in her lunchbox for her “nut- free” school.  Yes, I said “nut-free,” and that is a whole other discussion for another day.

As I was saying, the whole “perfect parent” thing, it’s not me. So after a day of high emotions, roller coaster moods, and lots of sassy-ness from my almost 5 year old we had a ‘moment.’ I took a deep breath, hugged her tight, looked her dead in the eyes and in a calm voice said “I love you.” I know, it sounds totally mushy, but oh my goodness, it worked! She was like a new kid, full of obedience, respect, and calm.

Our moment was a wake-up call for me. I have to be more present with my daughter.

With that in mind, today’s lesson: kids just want to feel secure and loved. It’s amazing what a mere 5 seconds of honest, undivided attention can do for a sassy attitude.

Leave a Reply

