Day 11 – Optimistic Pessimism

Oddly enough my daughter and I both had our “performance reviews” today.

The kid passed with flying colors. Not exactly shocking considering she’s 4.

However, I was terrified. The anxiety over what could possibly be said in this 30 minute meeting had been throwing me for a loop since I received the meeting planner.

So what’s a girl to do? Learn a lesson of course!

I hope this comes across correctly, I was struggling to verbalize it in a simple and concise way.

I learned to prepare for the worst…

I am not a pessimist by any means, but sometimes thinking like one can be helpful. The next time you’re worked up over “what if” – complete the sentence with all the worst case scenarios cluttering your mind. Say it, write it, process through it. When I challenged myself to work through the worst it became easier to believe the best.

Leave a Reply

