#18 – The Agitator

“The Agitator.” That was a nickname given to me recently by a very respected friend and mentor. At first I questioned the meaning and how it related to me, I am not an “agitator”… I am not a Maytag washing machine, I don’t stir stuff up…Oh wait, I sure do and am darn proud of the fact.

Taking a step back and looking at the definition of agitate I found that this nickname may just be the perfect fit after all. According to my handy Dictionary app, agitate means “to force into irregular action, to move to and fro, to disturb or excite emotionally, to consider on all sides, revolve in the mind.”

In order to change the world for the better, improve relationships, coaching, leading, and ultimately the success of a business we have to be constantly “agitating.” Never settling for the status quo, always stirring the calm with questions like “How can we get better?” and “What can I do differently today to teach and lead instead of command and direct?”

Armed with the power to challenge, stir, and change, I join an elite group of Thought Leaders (you know, like the Avengers, only we don’t fly and carry a big hammer…well most of the time) in an effort to never stop learning, coaching, and communicating.  Here’s to 2014.

Leave a Reply

